On Site Rebranding as a form of Troll Pimping

Some more thoughts on my recent free book giveaway…

I re-branded my whole Internet presence with a specially-made banner ad 2 days before my sale. Here’s the banner ad again:

Equivocal Destines 1-Day Sale, Wednesdays 18th February 2015
Equivocal Destines 1-Day Sale, Wednesdays 18th February 2015

The question is, do I think this was effective? To be frank – yes and no.

  • Rebranding Twitter was a complete waste of time because I doubt no-one ever really checks other people’s profiles. That said, I added the banner as an image to a lot of posts and I think this would have had a big, positive effect. There’s so many tweets flashing past on Twitter that you have to make them stand out, and I think this really did. I can’t prove it however as I have few statistics. More on that in a sec.
  • Rebranding Facebook was most definitely a huge success. I had people clicking Like on the banner picture all the time, on multiple pages. That means they saw the pic, which means they knew about the promotion.
  • Rebranding Google+ achieved nothing. Does anyone even use Google+?
  • I didn’t rebrand WordPress because they put the title info in the middle of the background image and I was too lazy to make a second banner image. My blog is relatively popular (a decent number of daily visitors from both Facebook and Twitter with the occasional click-through to somewhere else useful) so it was a bad idea to be lazy.

Lots of technical details, but what does it all mean?

KDP provides a site-level breakdown of sales, and here was mine:

Marketplace Units Sold
Amazon.com.au 3
Amazon.ca 1
Amazon.de 5
Amazon.co.uk 13
Amazon.com 70

I can account for the sales in Australia and Canada but I don’t know anyone in Germany or the UK, so I can only assume these sales came from word-of-mouth from people who took notice of my advertising, which would have been based on them noticing the banner ad, probably in a post on Twitter.

Amazon.com is obviously just what the rest of the world uses if they have no local store. In fact, lots of people in Australia, Canada, Germany an the UK probably also use Amazon.com anyway.

The numbers are very small, but since I put very little work into it, I think it’s an OK start.

Was that all dry and boring? Sorry…

One thought on “On Site Rebranding as a form of Troll Pimping”

Leave a Reply

