On Cloned Bridge Trolls and Irregular Heartbeats

Anyone interested in a quickie? Well, probably not.

Here’s one a lot of (indie) authors may have not thought of. Amazon.com isn’t Amazon. They’re very different beasts. Let me give you my latest data up front. As always, it’s based on my novel, Equivocal Destines.

Site Reviews Amazon Best Sellers Rank Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought
www.amazon.com 5 #353,322 19
www.amazon.com.au 0 #278,653 Paid in Kindle Store
#3082 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Fantasy > Epic
#7327 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Literature & Fiction > Action & Adventure
21
www.amazon.de 0 #477.161 76
www.amazon.ca 1 #244,849 19 – exactly the same list as amazon.com!
www.amazon.co.uk 1 #70,825 Paid in Kindle Store
#92 in Kindle Store > Books > Children’s eBooks > Literature & Fiction >
Science Fiction, Fantasy & Scary Stories > Fantasy & Magic > Sword & Sorcery
57
All other Amazon stores no data no data

Well… Any questions? I’m obviously very proud of my sub-sub-sub-sub-genre ranking of 92 in the UK, although I hope my other rankings’ll increase a lot sometime soon too. I can tell from my reports that I’ve sold a disproportionate number of copies in the UK. Here’s my sales numbers, listed as percentages. Any market not listed has generated 0 sales.

 Market Free % Paid %
Amazon.com.au 4.5 6
Amazon.com 80.9 57.5
Amazon.de 2.5 3
Amazon.es 0.3 0
Amazon.co.uk 9 27.2
Amazon.in 0.3 0
Amazon.ca 1.9 6
Amazon.co.jp 0.3 0

So, clearly amazon.com generates the most sales – both free and paid – it’s also a much, much larger market. In reality, 400-500 hundred million. In theory, billions. The UK, with it’s, what, 60 million, is a smaller market with fewer overall sales so my sales as a percentage of that market, are much higher.

As an aside, my first table strongly implies that people in Germany and the UK read a lot more books.

People, don’t just focus on American customers on amazon.com. It looks like you might get more traction focussing equally on the UK, and even Germany where practically everyone under 30 speaks a serviceable level of English (of course, my German friends dispute this generalisation).


Seriously, one day I’m going to have to write a blog post on the rationale behind my ridiculous naming ideas.

Leave a Reply

